Patrol Welcomes Trooper Basic

The Wyoming Highway Patrol recently commissioned eight recruits to the rank of Trooper upon the completion of their intensive training academy. During their academy, the new Troopers were instructed in a variety of classes including firearms, commercial carrier, physical training, RADAR/LIDAR, emergency vehicle operation, custody and control, crash investigation and other pertinent training. The members of Class 93 that were new to law enforcement participated in over 1,210 hours of academy training.
Being a State Trooper for the Wyoming Highway Patrol can be a challenging, yet rewarding career as it takes a special person to become a Wyoming State Trooper. All Troopers take an oath to protect and serve all citizens of this great state with courtesy, professionalism, and integrity as Wyoming’s Troopers represent the agency brand of “Guardians of the Cowboy State”.
The new Troopers participated in their swearing-in ceremony in front of family and friends at the Wyoming Supreme Court on Nov. 2nd. The ceremony marked the 93rd graduated Wyoming Highway Patrol Academy.
Please join us in congratulating Wyoming Highway Patrol Class 93:

  • Clint Christensen, Badge 51, Casper
  • Bill Daugherty, Badge 146, Lander
  • Amber Huschka, Badge 181, Gillette
  • Patrick Maez, Badge 191, Lusk
  • Caleb Massie, Badge 59, Gillette
  • Jeffrey McMillen, Badge 195, Rawlins
  • Eric Spring, Badge 70, Gillette
  • Samuel Szott, Badge 197, Wheatland


  • Colonel’s Leadership Award: Trooper Jeffrey McMillen
  • Top Academic Award: Trooper Bill Daugherty
  • Top Fitness Award: Trooper Jeffrey McMillen
  • Top Firearms Award: Trooper Jeffrey McMillen
  • Most Improved Fitness Award: Trooper Amber Huschka

Bill Daugherty 146 - Lander

Daugherty BJ-web.jpgTrooper Bill Daugherty (Badge 146, Lander) was born and raised in Apple Valley, California and  moved to Powell, Wyoming in 2013 to attend Northwest College. Bill graduated with an Associate’s degree in Criminal Justice. He enjoys spending time in the outdoors hunting, fishing and trapping and is looking forward to working in Lander. 

Clint Christensen 51 - Casper

Christensen CD-web.jpgTrooper Clint Christensen (Badge 51, Casper) was born in Sturgis, South Dakota. After high school he began working as an EMT before meeting his wife and moving to North Carolina where he began working as a Police Officer. Clint worked for the Fayetteville Police Department for 3.5 years as a K9 handler. Clint and his wife have been married five years and have been blessed with two beautiful daughters. His hobbies include keeping up with his family, snowmobiling, hunting, camping, and traveling.

Amber Huschka 181 - Gillette

Huschka AT-web.jpgTrooper Amber Huschka (Badge 181, Gillette), is from Williston, North Dakota. Prior to becoming a Wyoming State Trooper, Amber attended the University of Mary where she graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Psychology. Amber enjoys hiking, working out, and spending time with family. Amber is excited and looking forward to joining the WHP family.

Patrick Maez 191 - Lusk

Maez PA-web.jpgTrooper Patrick Maez (Badge 191, Lusk) was born and raised in southern Colorado. He graduated from Trinidad State Junior College with an Associate’s Degree in Criminal Justice. He has been married to his wonderful wife for 20 years and has a 10 year old son. Prior to the Patrol, he worked for the Wyoming Department of Corrections for the past 8 years. In his spare time he enjoys spending quality time with his family, coaching his sons wrestling team and riding his motorcycle.

Caleb Massie 59 - Gillette

Massie CA-web.jpgTrooper Caleb Massie (Badge 59, Gillette) is from Torrington, WY where he served for eight years on the Torrington Police Department.  He has also served for 18 years with the Army Reserves and has multiple deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan.  Trooper Massie completed his Associates Degree in Criminal Justice through Eastern Wyoming College.  He enjoys hunting, fishing, camping and hiking in the mountains.

Jeffrey McMillen 195 - Rawlins

McMillen JR-web.jpgTrooper Jeffrey McMillen (Badge 195, Rawlins) is from Wichita, Kansas and excited to be serving the public in Wyoming. Jeffrey likes to hunt and fish in his free time when not spending time with all of his pets. Jeffrey and his wife have really enjoyed living in Rawlins and are very much looking forward to starting their family in such a great community.

Eric Spring 70 - Gillette

Spring ES-web.jpgTrooper Eric Spring (Badge 70, Gillette) is from Centerville, Iowa and a graduate from Graceland University in Lamoni, Iowa with a Bachelors degree in Sociology and Criminal Justice.  Prior to becoming a Wyoming State Trooper, Eric spent the last 17 years in Law Enforcement with a variety of responsibilities with 3 other agencies.  Eric is honored to be joining the WHP family and bring his experience to the State of Wyoming.  Eric enjoys working out, hunting, fishing, and the great outdoors.

Samuel Szott 197 - Wheatland

Szott SJ-web.jpgTrooper Samuel Szott (Badge 197, Wheatland) is from Cheyenne, Wyoming.  After graduating high school, he earned an Associate’s degree in Criminal Justice from Eastern Wyoming College and a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Wyoming.  Prior to the Patrol, he worked as a Corrections Officer for the State of Wyoming and as an Animal Control Officer in Cheyenne.  In his free time, Samuel enjoys writing novels, hiking and spending time with his fiancée and family.