The Wyoming Highway Patrol is currently not accepting applications.
As a Wyoming State Trooper, you will find a challenging career assisting citizens in ensuring traffic safety while promoting peace and order throughout the state. Law enforcement is not just a job; it is a passion-driven career where you can make a difference every day you go to work. Be a part of a premier law enforcement team that holds itself to the highest possible standard!
Feel free to contact the agency recruiter at 307-777-4306 to chat about a possible future career with the Wyoming Highway Patrol.
The Wyoming Highway Patrol is looking for qualified individuals who are ready to become part of a team dedicated to serving and protecting the citizens in the great state of Wyoming. Wyoming Highway Patrol Troopers are held to the highest standard and embody professionalism, integrity, courage, discipline, humility, and loyalty.
Some benefits include:
The testing consists of two or three days in Cheyenne, Wyoming. These testing days will cover the physical agility test (WYPAT), oral boards, eye detection test, and psychological testing. Once you have successfully passed these four testing phases, you are moved on to the background portion of the testing process.
To be eligible for the next testing in Cheyenne, Wyoming, you must complete the online applications and take the written test through Public Safety Testing. The written test can be taken virtually once you have registered.
Uniforms and Equipment:
● All equipment and uniforms are provided by the State.
● A monthly allowance of $75 is given for cleaning the Trooper's uniforms.
● Each Trooper is issued a take-home patrol vehicle, which is the Trooper's responsibility. The take-home patrol vehicle is not to be used for personal transportation when off duty.
o Vehicle maintenance and expenses are paid for by the State.
o Patrol vehicles vary in make, size, and model and may be specialized vehicles depending on the Trooper's assignment.
Troopers are eligible to receive call-out time, holiday overtime, 20 hours of grant allowance, and are vested into the State of Wyoming's retirement system after six years.
PENSION PLAN - Sworn law enforcement officers are required and automatically enrolled in the Warden, Patrol, & DCI Plan at the time of hire.
● Total contribution into the plan is 29.44% of an employee's salary (including base, holiday pay, longevity, and shift pay), the State currently contributes 26.8%, and the employee contributes presently 2.64%.
● A benefit of 2.50% per year of service is paid (not to exceed 75%). The percentage spent is based on the final three years' average salary.
● An employee is vested in the retirement system with full benefits after six (6) years.
● An employee is eligible for retirement when reaching age 50 plus meeting the vesting requirements. There is no early retirement under this plan. An employee must begin drawing this benefit no later than age 65.
● The rate of accrual for sick leave is eight (8) hours per month. An unlimited number of days may be accrued.
The Wyoming Highway Patrol is now offering a four-week onboarding training for all currently certified peace officer candidates. This shortened training will be provided to candidates who are presently peace officers and have always wanted to be a part of the Wyoming Highway Patrol.
This new initiative will allow candidates to become Wyoming State Troopers, who in the past may not have been able to complete an entire WHP academy due to time constraints or other personal reasons.
Wyoming Highway Patrol Recruiter: 307-777-4306